Webinar: the age of strategic competition in Metals & Mining

Geopolitical Risk Outlook

The past 12 months has been a tumultuous period in the international arena and the age of strategic competition has well and truly arrived. We've seen: The world’s two largest economies fight a disruptive trade war that shows little sign of abating, the US and Russia squaring off across a range of fronts, and a geopolitical spat between Beijing and Canberra causing China to restrict coal imports from Australia as punishment.

A trade deal is likely to prove only a temporary sticking plaster as the trade war is the most prominent manifestation of increasing strategic rivalry across the board. To help companies navigate these issues, we're holding a webinar to analyse the key geopolitical risks set that affect the global metals and mining sector in the months and years ahead.

We will hold two sessions, please select the one that is most convenient for you:

Date: Wednesday 26 June

Asia-Pacific session:  08.00 UK / 09.00 South Africa /15.00 Singapore / 17.00 Melbourne
Americas-US session: 10.00 CDT / 12.00 Brazil / 16.00 UK / 17.00 South Africa

Register for the webinar to find out:

  • What impact will increasing strategic competition between the US & China have on ‘critical mineral’ supply chains?
  • What are the chances of economic sanctions against Russian firms disrupting global metals markets?
  • What does China’s politically-stoked ‘go-slow’ on Australian coal imports tell us about the world’s largest commodity demand centre?

Speakers:

Hugo Brennan, Head of Mining and Metals Risk
Daragh McDowell, Head of Europe and Central Asia